Live Your Life In Quotes

Leadership

Earlier this week, I found myself at a roundtable with about eight small business owners. The conversation circled back to defining success. One of the business owners saidLeadership while making a point that he finds it easier to stay focused when he lives his life in quotes.

The irony of such a statement is that I should have remembered the Zig Ziglar quote he mentioned, but it was his statement that stuck with me: “I’m sorry, but I like to live my life in quotes.”

It would have been interesting to have gone around the room, and  ask each business owner which quotes inspired them? And which quotes defined how they wanted their business to be remembered? That would have been a lively, and probably inspiring conversation – alas, an opportunity lost.

Or not?

I go back and forth as to what quote I would want to be defined by, how I would want my business defined. Perhaps something from the classics (Tennyson’s Ulysses: “…to strive, to seek, to find, and not to yield”); perhaps ripping from Dead Poets Society, like Apple did this year:

 

 

At the end of the day, the quote that has resonated with me over the last several years is one from Major Dick Winters, he of Band of Brothers fame.

 

In American History magazine in 2004, Winters said,

 

“If you can, find that peace within yourself, that peace and quiet and confidence that you can pass on to others, so that they know that you are honest and you are fair and will help them, no matter what, when the chips are down.”

 

Whether it be colleagues or clients, I would like to think that I people feel I am honest and fair, and will help them no matter what. At least, this is the goal.

So – I put forth to you, the proverbial social media readers and fellow-bloggers: if you have to choose a quote that epitomized you and your business or profession – what quote would you choose and why?

I am looking forward to seeing the responses.

Leave a Reply

