My Musings on Business, Politics and Education

I have tried for the better part of a year now to keep my writing between work and play separate. I felt like I needed an outlet for my creative side here, on Perfecting Naivety, and my business side through the Mueller College blog, Mueller Musings. What I have found is that I am inspired to write for each of these outlets, but I go through streaks.  There are weeks at a time where I consistently produce content for one outlet while my writing for the other suffers.

So in coming to this conclusion, I have decided that if the content is appropriate – that is to say, if it isn’t overtly entertainment centric – it may appear in both blogs.

For those of you not familiar with Mueller Musings, I urge you to subscribe to the blog – or at the very least check in regularly.

The following post originally appeared back in April of this year and is a nice companion piece to one of my first entries here…probably because I can’t get enough of the topic of work-life balance.

THE MYTH OF WORK-LIFE BALANCE

I love it when I see articles like this one on Tips for Work-Life Balance. The term in and of itself is a misnomer in my opinion: there is work-life balance suggests or implies that you can either:

A.)   achieve an acceptable and appropriate split between the two (50-50, 60-40…?); or

B.)   that you should strive to do so; or

C.)   that it actually exists!

Yet, when I read the article, there are some inevitable truths that can be taken away and utilized here.  Whether or not you can achieve work-life balance is debatable; however, you can generally speaking, reduce your stress levels and improve your quality of life.

1. Set boundaries

So, for me, this is usually one of the harder things to do.  I am way too accommodating, way too nice, and assume the best in, and want to help people. Yet – the power of NO is sometimes the best thing you can do to set boundaries and reduce stress. (One thing I never say NO to is a Great Massage!)

2. Ask for Help

This tip is actually one that I have recently improved upon.  I’ve learned that asking for help is not viewed as weakness, but is actually viewed as strength. If this is something that is hard for you to do, start with something innocuous – ask a neighbor to help on a landscaping project for example.  When the project is finished, take five minutes to think about what the project would have been like had you attempted it by yourself. Then – move on to bigger, more personal “asks.”

3. Nurture the Body

Perhaps the best advice of all … ensure good health includes a variety of things, including proper diet, getting enough rest and a regular exercise routine.  It wouldn’t be a bad idea to ask for help in this area and seeking out a great Personal Fitness Trainer. When you are healthy, your energy levels can sustain the day-to-day struggles at work and at home.

Will any of this actually create balance? No. Truth be told, I think Work-Life Balance is like the Easter Bunny, Santa Claus and the Tooth Fairy. However, will these tips reduce stress and improve your overall disposition – absolutely. After all, it’s much easier to strive for something that is realistic and achievable.

The Grand Poobah currently serves as Admissions Director for Mueller College, a small for-profit college in San Diego, CA. He is one of many contributing writers to it’s blog, Mueller Musings. New posts for Mueller Musings appears every Monday and Thursday.  Be sure to like the Facebook page for Mueller College, follow us on Twitter, LinkedIn, Google+, and YouTube

Leave a Reply

