OSCARS!

Sunday – February 26, 2012 – 5:20 PM

For too long now, I have been following movies, actors and actresses like most people follow baseball players … looking at their filmography, and in my mind, predicting whether or not performances and films were award worthy.  To that end, my favorite events every year include the Superbowl, World Series, March Madness and Movie Awards Season (Globes, SAG, BAFTA, and Oscars).

So, with a mere ten minutes before the show  kicks off – I have but one prediction, and it’s for Best Picture.  I have said it before, and I’ll say it here again: The Tree of Life is the best film of the year, and it should win Best Film – really, there is no other comparison amongst other nominees (see why I think so here).  But it would be an entirely too bold for the Academy voters to actually bestow the award on this film.  So, of the other nominees left, in my eyes Hugo is the one that should win. Scorsese shows the film-making community how 3-D can be utilized as a means to serve the story, not distract from it.

But, if I am being honest, the film I think that will win is The Artist. Producing what is largely a silent film in this day and age is as bold as it is romantic.  It is an homage to the earlier heyday of Hollywood.  This is why it will win.  I hope I am wrong, as I would LOVE to see one of other two films mentioned here win.  Oops, Morgan Freeman is speaking … here we go…

Thoughts on The 84th Academy Awards

  • First and foremost – Billy Crystal rocks. I wish he would host every year – forever.
  • WOW! Hugo takes the first two awards of the night…could it be one of those nights where they dominate? That would be amazingly awesome – Hugo is a family favorite, so the excitement is high in the Grand Poobah’s lair.
  • First standing ovation of the night goes to the Best Supporting Actress winner Octavia Spencer!
  • Anyone else pick up on the Academy’s blatant attempt to get more people to the movie theater? Did you know that movie ticket sales were at a 16-year low this past year?
  • Cirque du Soleil performance was amazing
  • Second standing ovation for Christopher Plummer – oldest winner of an Oscar ever…he will always be Captain Von Trapp and Chang, from Star Trek: The Undiscovered Country to me.
  • Best Director win Michel Hazanavicius for The Artist bodes well for my prediction of Best Picture
  • The In Memorium sequence is always poignant
  • Jean Dujardin, Best Actor – another popular pick that goes toward my prediction for Best Picture (note that it was also put out to the world on FB at approximately 2:30 PM.)
  • SHOCKER – and the third standing ovation of the night, Meryl Streep!!
  • Best Picture – The Artist


I love the movies … for those of you who share that love, make sure you see these films.  They are all so, so good.  Until next year…pass the popcorn.

[Oscar Flickr photo used under the Creative Commons license, credited to Shavar Ross]

Leave a Reply

