The Sting – Or How My November Became Movember

My brother is a pretty clever con man. I mean, he really got me this time.  I am subject to the teasing of potentially 364 or more people for 30 days. And I didn’t even think twice until it was too late. He said, let’s do this:

  • Take a picture of yourself every morning within 15 seconds of waking up for the month of “Movemeber” to track your mustache growth.
  • Paste that picture on Facebook, everyday
  • whattaya say?

OK, OK – if I am being fair, er, accurate – I have to admit that this wasn’t a Sting, so much as I completely misread the e-mail and assumed that my brother was joining me in this adventure.  Until I had the following exchange via Facebook, asking him, where is his photo on November 1st:

Yes – indeed – I was in trouble.  But, it’s not so bad. It’s for a great cause actually. What is it? I am now a part of the Movember Movement.

THE LOWDOWN

During November each year, Movember is responsible for the sprouting of moustaches on thousands of men’s faces, in the US and around the world. With their Mo’s, these men raise vital funds and awareness for men’s health, specifically prostate cancer and other cancers that affect men. Movember men start November 1st clean-shaven. For the rest of the month, I will be known as a Mo Bro, and groom, trim and wax their way into the annals of fine moustachery. Supported by my wife and brother too I suppose, both now known as Mo Sistas, I am trying to raise funds by seeking out a small donation for this modest Mo-growing efforts.

According to the site http://us.movember.com/?home, ” Mo Bros effectively become walking, talking billboards for the 30 days of November. Through their actions and words they raise awareness by prompting private and public conversation around the often ignored issue of men’s health. ”

WHY WOULD I DO THIS TO BEGIN WITH?

First – Moustaches are cool. I think it takes a certain level of self-confidence to rock one out.  Here’s hoping I can make it work.

Second – My Dad is a Cancer survivor. It was a while back, but I remember the feeling I had when my parents first told me that he had Cancer. For those of you who have seen the recent film 50/50, it was slightly less intense than when Joseph Gordon-Levitt’s character heard the “C” word…but let’s just say I could identify a bit more with that moment than I would like.  So this year’s ‘stache is dedicated to him.

Third – how about these stats:

– 1 in 2 men will be diagnosed with cancer in their lifetime and 1 in 3 women will be

– Evidence suggests that about a third of the 571,950 cancer deaths expected to occur will be related to obesity, physical inactivity, poor nuitrition and thus could be prevented

– 1 in 6 men will be diagnosed with prostate cancer in their lifetime.

– 240,890 new cases of the disease will be diagnosed and 33,720 men will die

MAKING THE ASK

So – here we go.  This is how you can help – I am asking for a small donation: the price of one matinée movie ticket: $5. I have the hope of raising just $1,000. That means I need two hundred of you to kick in the five-spot.  Think about it this way, this is the price of a $5-foot long at Subway.  Pack a lunch one day this week, and support the cause!

You do so by making a donation at http://mobro.co/danrobertsjr
You can even write a check payable to “Movember Foundation”, reference my name and Registration Number 2075500 and send it to: Movember Foundation, PO Box 2726, Venice, CA 90294-2726

If you’d like to find out more about the type of work you’d be helping to fund by supporting Movember, take a look at the Programs We Fund section on the Movember website: http://us.movember.com/about

So – there it is. I hope you will help a new MoBro out.

2 thoughts on “The Sting – Or How My November Became Movember

Leave a Reply

