Is it Adultery if it was her suggestion?

I have been cheating on my wife for almost ten years now.

I have a knock-out, drop-dead gorgeous wife who essentially lets me have an affair about one week after our wedding anniversary every year.  Wait! Before you judge me, know that this was HER IDEA!

The gorgeous lady who started it all...


Here it is: shortly after we were married, my wife encouraged me to rekindle my passion for film in a professional way.  She said – “There’s got to be something here in San Diego, like a film festival, that you could volunteer for and do something that brings you joy.”

Inspired, I did what anyone would do – I Googled “San Diego Film Festival” and discovered this wonderful group of people who share this same passion for recognizing films and filmmakers who will never be seen at your typical multiplex.  What my wife probably didn’t realize then – and she knows now (much to her chagrin) – is that I really like movies.  I mean, I LOVE movies.  It is my first love in life, and if I had my druthers, I would do nothing but watch movies all day long if I could get paid for it.

Instead, I have the next best thing: I help contribute to the growth of the San Diego Film Festival – and have been doing so for 9 and 1/2 years now. The last weekend of September is the craziest, busiest and most fun weekend of the year for me.  Five days of films, panels and parties – all geared toward celebrating the passion and art of independent film-making.

This year, during my annual five-day affair, I am most looking forward to seeing the following:

50/50 – Screening on Opening Night, 24-hours before its nationwide release, we will have writer Will Reiser in attendance for a post-screening Q&A.

Coriolanus – It must be the English Lit major in me, but I love me a good ‘ol updated version of a Shakespeare play.

Like Crazy – I am a softie at heart, and since this affair is a sanctioned one, I may sneak in some time with my wife for this romantic drama with Anton Yelchin, Felicity Jones, and Jennifer Lawrence.

Minds in the Water – This is one of many great documentaries this year at SDFF. In it, we follow the quest of professional surfer Dave Rastovich and his friends to protect dolphins, whales and the oceans they all share.

Semper Fi: Always Faithful – This documentary follows Master Sgt. Jerry Ensminger’s mission to expose the Marine Corps and force them to live up to their motto to the thousands of soldiers and their families exposed to toxic chemicals.

http://youtu.be/Szjk8TKE_Hw


The Last Mountain – The fight for the last great mountain in America’s Appalachian heartland pits a mountain community against the Massey Energy company.

Superheroes – From New York to San Diego and everywhere in between, “Superheroes” is the definitive look in to the ever-growing Real Life Superhero community.

Age of Champions – Potentially the feel-good documentary of SDFF this year, Age of Champions looks at the charm and active spirit of America’s senior citizens.

This is just a small sampling of what you will find at this years event.  There are almost 85 feature films, documentaries and shorts playing at the Gaslamp Theaters in downtown San Diego.

So – if you live in the area, have the passion, curiosity, time and the means to support and celebrate independent film, then I hope to see you.  For more information about the 10 Birthday of the San Diego Film Festival, please visit www.sdff.org for more information and pass or ticket sales.

Leave a Reply

